The new generation of DIN 1045 standards –
Guides to optimizing quality in concrete construction

The guidelines and standards currently applicable to concrete construction consider the individual processes (design, concrete and execution of the construction work) in separate standards. They are linked in just a few points, such as compressive strength or exposure classes. In addition, all construction tasks are treated equally in the standards, that is, no distinction is made between different levels of complexity. However, a consistently reliable level of quality in concrete construction can be ensured less and less with “one-size-fits-all” standards. Rather, it is necessary to differentiate between designs of different complexity, but also with regard to processes requiring different levels of sophistication in design, concrete technology and execution of the construction work. For this purpose, the concept of concrete construction quality classes has been integrated in an interlinked new series of DIN 1045 standards. They will be used to primarily define, in varying intensity, the quality assurance measures required to achieve an identical level of quality based on complexity (N = normal, E = increased, S = special).

This concerns in particular the interfaces between the individual areas of responsibility. No special measures are usually necessary for simpler construction tasks, for example, in standard building construction. For more complex tasks, on the other hand, as is often the case in civil engineering, close coordination (communication) between the parties involved is mandatory, in addition to individual additional technical regulations. It is especially at the interfaces between design, construction material and execution of the construction work that weak points and related deficiencies have often been found in the past. Continuous coordination is required as early as the design stage on the one hand, and during execution on the other. Since the level of complexity can result from all three areas (design, concrete, execution), the concrete construction quality class is defined by the highest-ranking class (N = normal, E = increased, S = special) from the three areas of responsibility: design, concrete and execution (PK = design class, BK = concrete class, AK = execution class).


Related articles:

Issue 02/2018 The new DafStb WP Code of Practice:

Concept, notes, and recommendations for design and technical execution

In the past, concrete constructions impermeable to water were primarily designed with restricted crack width, with the objective of enabling self-healing of the designed separating cracks. However,...

Issue 02/2013 Concrete curing and formwork stripping times

Execution of concrete structures

The European standard for the execution of concrete structures, DIN EN 13670, was implemented in Germany under the supervision of the regulatory authorities together with Eurocode 2 for the design...

Issue 07/2009 Architectural concrete with Dyckerhoff Weiss

Design and execution of architectural concrete surfaces

The term “architectural concrete” is generally used to refer to “visually appealing concrete surfaces” [DIN 18 217], which are also termed “visible” or “exposed” surfaces. It is this visible...

Issue 02/2014 Checklist for effective design by classification

Waterproof concrete basements –

What does a waterproof concrete structure achieve? Building underground is always a big challenge to both designers and construction contractors. For this purpose, key influential parameters must be...

Issue 11/2013 Rinninger/FBS

New sewer construction with UHPC pipes in FBS quality

In the course of reconstructing the entire underground infrastructure at the premises of the future base of the Sonthofen NBC Defense and Self-Protection School, the Kempten State Building Authority...