PCI announces 2016 PCI Journal Awards

The Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute’s (PCI’s) Journal Awards Committee has named the winners of the 2016 PCI Journal awards. This year’s Martin P. Korn Award goes to Jay Holombo, Rick Snyder, Sri Sritharan and Justin Vander Werff for their September-October 2015 paper, “A Cost-Effective Integral Bridge System with Precast Concrete I-Girders for Seismic Application.” The Martin P. Korn Award – named in honor of the first executive director of PCI – recognizes the paper that offers the greatest contribution to the advancement of precast and prestressed concrete in the area of design and research.

Oguzhan Bayrak, Todd A. Helwig and Hossein Yousefpour received the Robert J. Lyman Award for the September-October 2015 article “Construction Stresses in the World’s First Precast Concrete Network Arch Bridge.” The Robert J. Lyman Award goes to the paper that offers the greatest contribution in the area of plant production, site erection or general construction using precast and prestressed concrete.

 “The Legacy and Future of an American Icon: The Precast Prestressed Concrete Double Tee” in the July-August 2015 issue won the 2016 Charles C. Zollman Award. David Nasser, George Nasser, Adam Sevenker and Maher Tadros received the award, which goes to the best state-of-the-art precast and prestressed concrete paper.

The 2016 George D. Nasser Award, which recognizes young authors 40 years of age or younger who write outstanding papers on design, research, production or construction, went to Ann-Marie Cox, Jinwei Huang and Muhannad Suleiman for the article “Minimum Confinement Reinforcement for Prestressed Concrete Piles and a Rational Seismic Design Framework” in the January-February 2016issue. The paper was also co-authored by Sri Sritharan and K. Arulmoli.

Winners were recognized at the 2016 PCI Fall Committee Days and Membership Conference, October 12-15 in Chicago, Ill.



Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute

200 W. Adams St. #2100

Chicago, IL, 60606/USA

+1 312 7860300


Related articles:

12/2015 Hering Bau

Iconic Award 2015 for Architectural Concrete

The whole world of architecture – that is the motto of the Iconic Awards, an architectural award annually presented by Rat für Formgebung (German Design Council). Experience gained over many years...


Real progress

The moment chewing gum with a new flavor goes on sale, marketing talks about an innovation. Runnning shoes in a new color – again an innovation. The old pop song with new rhythm – innovation. Such...


Holmes Named Executive Director Mid-Atlantic Precast Association

The Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI) recently announced that Thomas Holmes has been named as the new Executive Director of Mid-Atlantic Precast Association (MAPA). Holmes is not new to the...

06/2016 Bundesverband Spannbeton-Fertigdecken

Colloquium to be held in June in Braunschweig

The new type of colloquium to be held on 28 June 2016 in Braunschweig is to provide information about how prestressed precast floor slabs can be used safely also after the modification of the Model...


Prestressed element and method for producing a prestressed element

(10) WO 2016/096592 Al (22) 10.12.2015 (43) 23.06.2016 (57) The present invention relates to an elongate prestressed element (10a) defining two opposite ends (13), produced in two filling materials...